PDA

View Full Version : CPU Overclocking help

Hotrod
August 31st, 2008, 08:38 PM
Well, I got my new computer, but sadly, I didn't end up getting a Quad-Core, for various reasons. So, I'm stuck with my Dual-Core. It hasn't really caused me any problems, but I was still wondering if I could make it run a little better, and the obvious way to do that is overclocking.

However, I have no knowledge in this kind of stuff whatsoever, and I knew that some of you guys do. So, any advice?

Kalub
August 31st, 2008, 08:43 PM
Uhh.... the Quads aren't much faster really. But, it really depends on what motherboard you have. Some make it easier and some make it harder.

Hotrod
August 31st, 2008, 09:03 PM
I know that the Quads aren't that much faster, but I'm still interested in overclocking my CPU, but don't know how to do so.

flibitijibibo
August 31st, 2008, 09:12 PM
Change the FSB in the BIOS. That's all I feel like explaining, so jfgi.

Saggy
August 31st, 2008, 09:15 PM
First of all, you'll want to find out what motherboard you have. Then, check what type of BIOS you have, and make sure they're up to date.

Follow this tutorial. http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1804&page=7
Familiarize yourself with the termonolagy, and print out the tutorial if you have to, otherwise MAKE SURE YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING BEFORE HAND!!

If it happens were your motherboard and/or BIOS do not let you edit your CPU speeds, there are program alternatives such as ClockGen (http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=189) that can do it for you, but it can be risky. Overclocking your CPU manually from the BIOS is your best option.

Hopefully this helps, and good luck!

Abdurahman
September 1st, 2008, 01:08 AM