PDA

View Full Version : +exactportals?

English Mobster
January 4th, 2009, 10:55 PM
OK, I compiled a map. I was having some issues with framerate loss here and there, so I added in some exactportals and tried to run it through tool. However, now it says that tool couldn't update the edges at all of my exactportals... Help! :confused2:

Sel
January 5th, 2009, 07:40 AM
Make them regular portals?

idk, I've never once bothered to use exactportals. Never seen the need.

FRain
January 5th, 2009, 07:44 AM
Make sure your shaders don't have the + in it. Just the material name in MAX. I've never used portals before but something like that with my light planes has happened before.

Inferno
January 5th, 2009, 01:46 PM
+Exact Portal is just for sealing buildings so that when you go indoors the weather\background sound\sound environment changes.

Make sure you have the + mark in front of the mat name or it will fuck up.

Rentafence
January 5th, 2009, 01:46 PM
Just to be sure, are your portals part of the bsp or a seperate object entirely? they need to be the latter. Also, make sure the exact portals edges line up perfectly with the edges of the bsp they're sealing.

p0lar_bear
January 5th, 2009, 04:47 PM
OK, I compiled a map. I was having some issues with framerate loss here and there, so I added in some exactportals and tried to run it through tool. However, now it says that tool couldn't update the edges at all of my exactportals... Help! :confused2:

Make sure your material is named "+exactportal" and double-check that it is applied to all exactportal faces.

English Mobster
January 5th, 2009, 05:59 PM
Make them regular portals?

idk, I've never once bothered to use exactportals. Never seen the need.
I tried regular portals once, it fucked up majorly. A post on GBX suggested that I use exactportals.

Make sure your shaders don't have the + in it. Just the material name in MAX. I've never used portals before but something like that with my light planes has happened before.