PDA

View Full Version : Can't Decide Between Ubuntu and Kubuntu

Reaper Man
August 12th, 2008, 06:05 AM
I'm a Linux noob, and I used to have Ubuntu installed on my system. I'm really sick of windows right now, but can't decide whether to install Ubuntu or Kubuntu, or just install KDE on Ubuntu. I really only have basic knowledge of this stuff, so if any of you would care to enlighten me.. Also, is the 64 bit version of either worth getting (support-wise etc)?

Are there any advantages to using KDE? I plan to customize whichever I install to have a dock and probably operate somewhat mac os style.

E: Decided to download x64 version of Ubuntu. I'm aware of the flash/java and other limitations, but I am also aware of the workarounds (firefox32 etc)

Sel
August 12th, 2008, 09:01 AM
Get vista :downs:

Reaper Man
August 12th, 2008, 09:05 AM
I have Vista on my laptop. Fucking hate it. Would get a Mac (I've wanted one for years) but don't have the cash just yet.

kenney001
August 12th, 2008, 10:17 AM
http://www.linuxmint.com/

Kalub
August 12th, 2008, 10:27 PM
I have a Windows 2000 disc you can borrow :)

Con
August 13th, 2008, 01:16 AM
why all the vista hatas

legionaire45
August 13th, 2008, 01:19 AM
Try Windows 7.

Oh, wait.

I'm a linux noob here, but Ubuntu was ok when I toyed around with it for a month.

Terin
August 13th, 2008, 03:23 AM
http://www.linuxmint.com/Ubuntu is pretty damn snazzy and functional on it's own. The only trouble I've had with it so far was getting wireless internet to work, and all I needed to do was manually plug it in, and update it.

Bodzilla
August 13th, 2008, 04:27 AM
GET THE FUCK OUT!!!!!!!!!!

SACRALIDGE!

Dr Nick
August 13th, 2008, 08:04 AM
Isn't Kubuntu just Ubuntu under the KDE?

klange
August 13th, 2008, 09:09 AM
Isn't Kubuntu just Ubuntu under the KDE?
With all KDE apps, yes.

If you want KDE, just get Kubuntu. It's the same as installing the `kubuntu-desktop` metapackage in Ubuntu...

Pyong Kawaguchi
August 15th, 2008, 11:40 AM