PDA

View Full Version : Snowboarding

Wakeboy1337
December 26th, 2008, 11:05 PM
Sunday morning I will be leaving to head up to Ski Beech in North Carolina. I've never snowboarded before at all. Nor have I even seen snow since I was 7. Has anyone here been snowboarding before or is a snowboarder? Close as I can come to that is Wakeboarding but that a little different since I have a handle to hold for balance and I'm soft flexible water, Not hard packed snow.

So modacity I ask... Any tips for a first time rider?

Rob Oplawar
December 27th, 2008, 12:10 AM
I'm totally pro. I'm a wicked sick pro.

No but srsly, I do go snowboarding every winter. My guess is that it is very, very different from wakeboarding. I've never done that, but I have a feeling that water is very different from ice.

Well, my advice is, be persistent.
You're going to fall down a lot. Don't be that guy, who decides he's having a horrible time just because he keeps falling down. Just learn to roll with it, to try and slide/roll to avoid hurting yourself when you fall, but more importantly, get up and keep going.

But I probably didn't need to tell you that.
Have fun!

Wakeboy1337
December 27th, 2008, 12:12 AM
Haha I am aware I'm going to fall. You guys shall have plenty of pics of me falling.

I will have fun though, thanks.

Btw if you ever have the chance, try wakeboarding.

Rob Oplawar
December 27th, 2008, 12:18 AM
will do

e: OH ALSO important thing. Don't try to catch yourself with your hands when you fall. I messed up my wrists doing that. Do use your arms, but don't just stick em out straight.

Heathen
December 27th, 2008, 12:34 AM
now is not soft

Thats my tip.

Bodzilla
December 27th, 2008, 01:04 AM
everybody falls in snowboarding.

everybody.

Con
December 27th, 2008, 01:57 AM
I'm a skier, got some new skis this xmas : D

Timo
December 27th, 2008, 02:43 AM