PDA

View Full Version : Making a Dedicated Server?

English Mobster
June 20th, 2009, 09:08 PM
I know, I know, I can pay to have one uploaded to Gameservers.net, but I have no money.

However, what I DO have is a 30 terabyte server on the other side of this wall right here *knocks on wall*.

Currently, I use it to upload gay movies for use on any Xbox 360s in the house.
However, I want to be able to run a Halo CE dedicated server on it as well. It has 30 terabytes worth of storage, and is directly connected to a FIOS line, giving it an up/down speed of REALLY FUCKING FAST (about 2 MB/sec down, 1 MB/sec up, iirc).

But I have ZERO knowledge of what to do. I understand some parts of init.txt (mostly sv_map "coldsnap" "oddball"), but I have no clue where the server gets the knowledge of what "oddball" is. I take it CE has to be installed and any maps/gametypes in place in the server's installation of CE, but that's about it.
I have a general idea of what rec0 is, but I have no clue how to implement it/use it.
Basically, I'm a noobie.

So. Halo is not installed on the server (yet), but what, exactly, would I do to make a dedicated server which can run 24/7? What would I need that won't come straight out of the HCE/HEK box? While I could search and try to figure it out myself, I would much rather have some seasoned vets teach me what to do.

E:

Haha, Mods. Ha. Ha.

Kaishounashi
June 20th, 2009, 09:36 PM
I think there's several threads on this forum about this topic actually, but this is the guide I followed when setting one up at work:

http://gbxforums.gearboxsoftware.com/showthread.php?t=65330

Very straightforward and easy to understand.

Roostervier
June 20th, 2009, 09:39 PM
Might wanna edit a certain part of your post out, EM.

NullZero
June 21st, 2009, 07:37 AM
Might wanna edit a certain part of your post out, EM.

that? :O

Syuusuke
June 21st, 2009, 09:28 AM
Oh there was something else mentioned, such as the means of getting those "gay movies".
--