PDA

View Full Version : Egde Error in Tool

teaversa
September 25th, 2009, 10:15 AM
I keep getting these errors in tool and i can't fix it.

http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/2337/errorzs.jpg

I uploaded my .max file from 3ds max and the .wrl file that tool made here:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=IKTUBM2L

I was hoping some would could take a look at them and help figure out what edges are missing??? I've tried fixing it but i get the same error everytime.

(this is my first time trying to make a map)

Rob Oplawar
September 25th, 2009, 10:29 AM
Try using max's STL check modifier- but note, that won't catch all the errors. Or, go to editable poly (convert your bsp to poly if necessary) and go to I think it's border or boundary select mode, and select all.
Also, look for two-sided surfaces you may be using (has the % symbol in the material name, I think) and make sure all their edges connect to flat geometry, ie,
cannot have vertical two-sided surface connecting to horizontal one-sided surface like this:
_|
it must be like this:
_|_
And you can't have free-standing two-sided surfaces; if any edge is exposed, if it's collideable, it is open, regardless of its surface type.

I doubt anybody's gonna download your bsp and fix it for you; if you want to make a map, you're going to have to track down and fix errors on your own, although we're happy to give advice on how to do so.

teaversa
September 25th, 2009, 11:00 AM
Yea, i though no one would do it for me, but i figured i might as well throw them in there for the hell of it...

thanks for the advice though, I'll definitely try your suggestions and see if anything helps.

EDIT: So the STL check modifier is showing up that i have 16 errors, which is good cause thats how many i have in tool....I'll see if i can figure out how to fix them now.

Ok so i changed the Mat-ID and i got this:

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/5016/errorsj.jpg