PDA

View Full Version : My Website Nigras!



Kalub
February 22nd, 2010, 11:31 PM
It's just hosted off my machine, but...


http://216.57.161.215/shutter/



Crit, Comments, Bug Reports....

Rob Oplawar
February 23rd, 2010, 12:10 AM
Looks nice, but I have to be snarky and say "nice creativity with the aperture logo". And I'm not talking about aperture science, I'm wondering aloud how many photography sites use an aperture as a logo. Too many, I think. It's a cool, easy graphic design element, but it's bindun.

I would recommend brightening up some of the greys there, particularly in the logo and the menu, just to increase the contrast. Think of us poor people using laptops.

Kalub
February 23rd, 2010, 02:05 AM
Good Call.... I'll think some something for the logo.



And I suppose I could either lighten the gradients, or text. Which would be better in your opinion?

Reaper Man
February 23rd, 2010, 10:39 AM
The name isn't exactly original...

Kalub
February 23rd, 2010, 01:01 PM
Logo is really just something I threw together so I could have a logo.... >_>


Get off it. :cop:


I more concerned about the layout, and color schemes

Timo
February 23rd, 2010, 01:56 PM
Throw some representation of ISO in there and it'll be complete.

Yoko
February 23rd, 2010, 05:47 PM
I'm more concerned about the layout, and color schemes
Too many shades of gray imo. Maybe make your h1 and h2s a bright blue or bright red, something that will stand out among the plain gray. And if you're sticking with that logo, make one of the triangles that same color.

The markup looks ok in some parts, but certain parts are really standing out as bad. I try to avoid break tags for one, use padding-top or padding-bottom if you need to. Also why are you using <hr> tags those are so old and deprecated just do a 1px border-bottom or use an image :x

This is up to you, but you can round the corners on your boxes using a css style. Put "-moz-border-radius: 10px" on the appropriate IDs. Using Firebug, I set #slideshow's radius to 10px and #content's to 20px so you can see what it looks like.
http://bacon.modacity.net/img/images/radius.jpg

Only other problem is your Copyright is hard to see, make it a much lighter shade of gray.

e: noticed you can shorten a piece of css for your background. you have it in 3 separate parts, but you can set it to:


background:#171717 url(images/bg.jpg) scroll repeat-x top left;
and it will still work without background-color, background-repeat and background-image.

Kalub
February 24th, 2010, 12:17 AM
Intresting, I'll see what I can pull out my ass. Thanks for the crit.

Kalub
February 24th, 2010, 01:46 AM
Threw in a splash of color... good or bad?


Also, disregard the name, and logo still.... I have no inspiration

Hunter
February 24th, 2010, 06:01 AM
DId you code the gallery thingy which slides the pictures.

Kalub
February 24th, 2010, 04:16 PM
No, that is an open-source JavaScript project called, ImageFlow. I'm quite pleased with it too, it was very simple to setup and integrate into the page.

Yoko
February 24th, 2010, 05:12 PM
h1 {
border-bottom:2px solid #AAAAAA;
color:#FFFFFF;
font-size:18px;
font-style:italic;
margin-bottom:5px;
padding-bottom:6px;
}

Your #slideshow h1 and #content h1 styles are the same, you can merge them both into one h1 { }. The border, padding and margin will also create the same effect as your <hr> element, so if you replace the two h1 IDs with that code, the <hr> tags must also go. HTML markup is the barebones structure, CSS will style anything outside of your HTML skeleton. Maybe it's just me, but I can't stress enough how semantically incorrect <hr> tags are nowadays; if you can style something with CSS, then do so.

Kalub
February 24th, 2010, 05:50 PM
I just wanted a line... Hmm. I'll just ditch them I suppose.


It still feels like it's missing something... :| and I need a logo & name as well.

Hunter
February 24th, 2010, 06:10 PM
I wanna know how to do it :P Its smexy. I prefer write the JS my self though.

Kalub
February 24th, 2010, 06:49 PM
Well... Here is the page for it. http://imageflow.finnrudolph.de/


If you can figure out how to get rid of the onClick() event let me know cause it makes me rage. Thanks. (figured it out, now if only I could get it to set the startID dynamically and always start on the middle image ie: I have 7 images so it starts on the 4th. Using something like this: math.round(numImages/2))



Also, slight update to the css, mainly the footer and h1 tags (border radius as well). Also, logo name approval?

Hunter
February 24th, 2010, 07:18 PM
math.round(numImages/2)).

I have never seen that in JS before :S It must use a framework thingy...

Kalub
February 24th, 2010, 07:32 PM
I know jack doop-de-doop about javascript, that's just an example of what I'd like to be able to do. I don't know how to write it in JS.

Hunter
February 24th, 2010, 08:22 PM
Oh, I thought it was code you got from the script Lol.

Kalub
February 25th, 2010, 01:36 AM
Look at the code here, http://216.57.161.215/shutter/imageflow.js


There is a line called startID. I would like that number to correspond to the center image when the script is loaded. I just don't know how to setup a variable that I can define and populate, then set the startID to that variable.

ie:

numImages: 7;

startID: math.round(numIMages/2);



I tried to implement it, but I failed hard. Maybe you could help Hunter.

Yoko
February 25th, 2010, 01:42 AM
If you wanted the middle image as start, wouldn't you do something along the lines of

startID: math.round((numImages+1)/2));

8/2 is 4, and 4 is the middle of 7. I know very little Javascript (taking a Javascript class though), and this is just a guess.

Kalub
February 25th, 2010, 03:01 AM
If you wanted the middle image as start, wouldn't you do something along the lines of

startID: math.round((numImages+1)/2));

8/2 is 4, and 4 is the middle of 7. I know very little Javascript (taking a Javascript class though), and this is just a guess.

Well, I just put the math rounding to get a whole number. But I tried to do something like that but failed. I don't know where to define the numImages car or where to set the startID. The code is too complex with all the functions and arrays and I get lost