PDA

View Full Version : If I wanted to build a computer for the first time.

0m3g4Muff1n987
December 6th, 2007, 04:40 PM
I've been reading MaximumPC mag and seeing all these people online who have built countless computers... so now I want to build one. I have a lot of computer knowledge for the most part, but there are a few problems.

1. I'm 13; I have no money. My dad says he can lend me some, maybe up to $600 or so, but he wants part of the profit (I'm going to sell it on ebay. This will only be an experiment so I can heighten my knowledge of computers.) So whatever I get, must be cheap, and it's got to sell on ebay for more than it cost me to build it, so I can pay my dad back and give him some profit. I would really care for the knowledge and experience more than the money.

2. I'm pretty good at picking out good parts when I customize a laptop on <insert manufacturer's site here>, but there are many parts I don't know the first thing about. Like, I have no idea how good any given motherboard is on newegg without looking at the customer reviews. And the power supplies, 400 watts? 500 watts? How will it help performance? And do you have to choose a case that has openings on the outside directly where the USB/eSATA/<insert port name> ports are located on the motherboard?

So as you can see, I need a little help. I think I'm pretty good on video cards, sound cards, RAM, monitors, procs, and HD's, but for basically everything else, could you geniuses please help point me in the right direction?

Tweek
December 6th, 2007, 04:55 PM
!

ask agamemnon. he knows.

Amit
December 6th, 2007, 05:00 PM
!

ask agamemnon. he knows.

ROFL

Cool, you wanna build a PC.

First of all do the following things and report back to us and we can give you a test so you know what you're doing when you start building:

1. Go to google and find a diagram of a motherboard that has been around for a few months.