Hi everyone,
since I'm an eye candy addict, and found that Health Blur looked cool, I thought putting it into Blood Gulch on Halo PC (since most people can't/won't/they're too lazy to get Halo CE).
Based on Sasc's Multiplayer Health Blur Script (which was based on Rob Oplawar's Singleplayer Health Blur Script):
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasc
Code:
(global short num7 0)
(global short num6 0)
(global short num5 0)
(global short num4 0)
(global short num3 0)
(global short num2 0)
(global short num1 0)
(global short numhb 0)
I have modified it to look like this (found that some things Sapien can't compile):
Code:
(global short num7 0)
(global short num6 0)
(global short num5 0)
(global short num4 0)
(global short num3 0)
(global short num2 0)
(global short num1 0)
(global short numhb 0)
Compiled that in Sapien, built the cache file in Tool and tested it, and it worked!
But here is the problem:
I turned it into a Halo PC map file using Harbinger and put it in the maps folder.
Whenever I tried to run Blood Gulch, the game crashed - exception!
Is it really that Halo PC MP maps don't support scripts, or I am doing something wrong?
August 2nd, 2010, 04:52 PM
Limited
Re: Multiplayer Health Blur Script - Client side
Okay, what exactly did you 'create'?, all you did was remove this line.
Code:
(= (unit_get_health (unit srvr_check)) -1)
Big whoop.
Also, how exactly is this MP, when you cannot edit an MP map and play it with people who dont have the map?
This is MP, works on any map.
August 2nd, 2010, 05:38 PM
Inferno
Re: Multiplayer Health Blur Script - Client side
No. No. No. No. No.
Do not port CE assets to stock maps that way.
Compile your map in CE with the new script in it.
Convert the header of the CE map to PC. ( forgot the offset for that )
Open PC Bloodgulch and your CE Bloodgulch in HMTv3.5
Extract the meta for the scenario from your bloodgulch.
Inject it over the meta of the stock bloodgulch.
???
Profit.
If that doesn't work (if scenario meta injection causes problems). Try to PMI Rebuilding to put the scenario in.
August 3rd, 2010, 04:26 AM
EagerYoungSpaceCadet
Re: Multiplayer Health Blur Script - Client side
Uh, Limited, it's for Halo PC, not CE, I know that it wouldn't work in CE.
And Inferno, thanks for the tip, PMI rebuilding worked! (+ rep)
EDIT:Well, I can run the map, that's a start.
But there are some things that are really unusual: Sometimes I get random parts of my screen flashing in red, grey horizontal lines covering the game screen (but not the weapon), and most of the time the script does not check my health, but another player's health.
Is there a way to fix that?
August 3rd, 2010, 12:18 PM
staticchanger
Re: Multiplayer Health Blur Script - Client side
Gonna have to say Limited's app makes more since than trying to script it in.
August 3rd, 2010, 04:04 PM
Inferno
Re: Multiplayer Health Blur Script - Client side
Well the problem is that when another player joins the game it shifts the player list.
(player 0) and (player 1) aren't static they are dynamic.
August 4th, 2010, 01:56 AM
EagerYoungSpaceCadet
Re: Multiplayer Health Blur Script - Client side
That's what has come to my mind!
Either figure out how the player numbers change, or make a program that checks the local health bar (Limited's app probably works that way)...
I don't know, and I bet I couldn't figure it out now, I am going on vacation...
See you later,
EagerYoungSpaceCadet
August 4th, 2010, 03:23 PM
GAIGHER
Re: Multiplayer Health Blur Script - Client side
Good the script
I isolated the convolution effect
(when there 1bar of life)
And i think have synchronize for the Multiplayer , to tested ...