Page 5 of 23 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 15 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 223

Thread: [WIP] GuiltySpark

  1. #41

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    Quote Originally Posted by Pooky View Post
    Wouldn't you also need some way to get it to lock onto people in the first place? :S

    Also, Conscars, what happens if you try to type while it's moving? Do you end up with a chatbox full of "wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwsssssssssddddddddaaaaaa aaa"?
    Yea, aimbot.
    Reply With Quote

  2. #42
    Kid in the Hall Kornman00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ◕‿◕, ┌( ಠ_ಠ)┘
    Posts
    3,130

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    If this was done in something like open-sauce, I don't imagine it would be too hard to hook the input_update function of the game. Before the update function is ran you could preprocess with a routine which gathers whatever data from the bot input, applies it to the input state that the game tracks, then diverts the game back to its input_update function. After that it could also then postprocess with another routine when then removes the input state changes it applied so that it doesn't affect other systems. However, I think the postprocess part may not even be needed as the input states aren't used by by the keystone system (the ingame ui which halo uses) and the game console uses the actual win32 api console functions.
    Reply With Quote

  3. #43
    chilango Con's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Victoria, BC, Canada
    Posts
    8,397

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    Quote Originally Posted by Pooky View Post
    Also, Conscars, what happens if you try to type while it's moving? Do you end up with a chatbox full of "wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwsssssssssddddddddaaaaaa aaa"?
    yeah unfortunately. I'm gonna have to add some sort of pause feature.

    I've encountered a bug where occasionally the bot will hold down just one key instead of correctly walking to the next waypoint. Jiggling the mouse seems to fix it, but I'm gonna look for a better solution. I also need to make it so the player jumps and crouches on special links. Moreover, ladders aren't supported right now.
    Reply With Quote

  4. #44
    Kid in the Hall Kornman00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ◕‿◕, ┌( ಠ_ಠ)┘
    Posts
    3,130

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    For that it sounds like you'll need to make a 3d viewer. You could have it so that a person can use an .obj export of a map, then use that in the 3d view. Or even load the bsp tag (I could help in that area in the future). With the latter (bsp tag), you already have collision information pre-built so you could do some automatic linking I think. It also stores information when it comes to things like surfaces which act as a ladder, which could assist in making weighted paths.
    Reply With Quote

  5. #45
    chilango Con's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Victoria, BC, Canada
    Posts
    8,397

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    It might be better to use a navigation mesh instead of nodes in that case, right? It would be pretty easy to set the walkable surfaces as polygons in the nav mesh I think.
    Reply With Quote

  6. #46
    Kid in the Hall Kornman00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ◕‿◕, ┌( ಠ_ಠ)┘
    Posts
    3,130

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    Of course, it would be better to use your own information that is built (baked) from Halo's preexisting database of information. However, if you just wanted a purely dynamic form of interfacing (that required no data baking) then you'd just use the bsp data as input.
    Reply With Quote

  7. #47
    Neanderthal Dwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Wouldn't u like to know?
    Posts
    4,189

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    I suggested to him the use of Cutscene flags as points, and importing them from the scenario tag.
    Reply With Quote

  8. #48
    Untruely Bannable~ Inferno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a Place
    Posts
    5,166

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    So when this is done we will have servers with multiple instances of the game running with lots of bots. Sounds lul.
    Reply With Quote

  9. #49
    chilango Con's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Victoria, BC, Canada
    Posts
    8,397

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    I just found a magic address that's true when you can move and false when you're typing in chat, in console, or in any menu. I just made it only press buttons when this value is true and the active window title is "Halo".

    GIT 'ER DONE

    edit: Added some view features. It's pretty obvious what they do, but whats not quickly apparent is how much they help when you're building the graph and things are cluttered. I found it hard to link nodes in places like the base where you have lower and upper level nodes and nodes right next to each other. I increased the zoom limit to 20 to really look closely, and I made the link arrows half as wide which greatly improves the appearance. Also, the highlighted path circles now fade to purple towards the goal as an indication of order.



    I found the program has trouble walking around in tight spaces. This can be improved by decreasing the radius in which it considers you at a node, which I may give the user the option to do since vehicles require a slightly larger radius, and by better placement of nodes. Keep the nodes towards the outside corners of hallway bends so the player doesn't get hung up on the inside edge.

    The suggestions in this thread have got me thinking, and I have some ideas for improving this, but I think I'm going to continue with the current systems until completion and then possibly make a version 2 once I've gained some more experience. The limitations I have right now, such as ladders, are easily fixed. The only problem with ladders is that the goal reached radius is used on a 2D basis only. If the user just places a node a foot away from bottom of the ladder and one at the top, then the program will just continue to walk forwards to reach the upper goal (just need to lock view in an upwards and forward direction, which I have to implement for jumping and warthogs anyway). Heading back down the ladder would require something else, but I'm sure it can be done.
    Last edited by Con; May 14th, 2010 at 02:08 AM.
    Reply With Quote

  10. #50

    Re: [WIP] HaloBot

    Quote Originally Posted by Inferno View Post
    So when this is done we will have servers with multiple instances of the game running with lots of bots. Sounds lul.
    Except you'd also need multiple copies of the game, since one CD key can't run multiple players in the same server that's checking with the authentication servers for legitimate keys. However you could use a server that doesn't check CD keys to have bots probably...

    Con, your next project is to work on a Halo client that runs with minimal system resources in order to act as a "bot" that can be used online. Should be pretty easy right?
    Reply With Quote

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •